Reading My Second Book Ever, “The Total Money Makeover” by Dave Ramsey

Posted: January 31, 2011 in My Life
Tags: , , , ,

I know it is a shock that man of scholarly aptitude such as myself, is only reading his second book at the ripe young age of 24. It just goes to prove that the education system currently in place needs to have a larger emphasis on reading, while I put the emphasis on writing. You are never to young to further your education and that is exactly what I plan on doing with this fine piece of literature.

I have been listening to Dave Ramsey’s radio show for sometime now and have decided become even more of a dedicated listener. Dave Ramsey started out in Real Estate and then became an entrepreneur by opening his own business which has blossomed into a diversified corporation. He has written multiple books, does public speaking, has his own radio show, and he is the founder of Financial Peace University.

Financial Peace University is an accredited 12 step class to help people achieve financial fitness. Dave lays the bricks for any kind of financial situation, from budgeting to dumping debt. This highly acclaimed class has helped millions become debt-free and while saving millions of dollars and has become a staple in church classes around the country due to Dave’s Christian background and influences.

You can become certified either through these classes that are available within many church groups, chambers of commerce, and even complete the course on your own by purchasing the dvd set. After completing the book, I plan on taking the classes so that I too can call into his show and do the official Dave Ramsey “I’m debt-free scream.” Mine may not be as dramatic as the many people who have dumped hundreds of thousands of dollars in fairly short amounts of time but student loans and credit card will be good enough for me.

The 13 chapter, 223 page book, unfortunately for me does not have any illustrations to pad the page count. It is a full 223 pages of text. I’m “notgonnalie,” this scares me a little bit. I want to be proactive and not take a whole year to read the book but also don’t want to bite off more than I can chew by setting a goal, that I will likely break. I also like to live by the conservative speaking motto of “under-promise and over-deliver.”

I will set the realistic goal of reading one chapter a week. I know that seems pretty elementary but when it comes to reading books I am well, elementary. I don’t have the attention span to completely envelop myself in a book, but then again it has never really happened because “kid can’t even read.” But hey, if for some reason I just cannot put the book down I will of course expedite my course and finish earlier than I have originally planned.

I just don’t want to say I’m going to read a chapter a night and try to finish in 2 weeks when my track record would suggest otherwise. We all know that when we set a goal and stray off track a little bit, that we decide to pop all of our tires than to try and push through and finish because we already already screwed up. Thus the “under-promise and over-deliver” approach should successfully correlate to my financial fitness index.

Some of you may be wondering what the book is about, well I am too but I do have a fairly good idea of what to expect. So, I will give you a prelude to some of the tips that I have already learned from “Big Wave” Dave just from listening to his show and then I will write a blog upon the completion of the book and in hopes of helping others, much like how Dave’s influence on me inspired me to help this little gem become debt free.

In just a few short months, a limited and strict spending process has allowed Danielle to rid herself of the looming credit cards inside her Juicy pocketbook. Many of you may have credit cards sitting stagnant with high balances as well and the best way to start paying them off is simple. Make a list of your debts and list them in ascending order, largest to smallest. You then begin to pay of the largest debt first with as much as you fiscally can, while paying the minimum balances on the remaining debts.

There are many rumors of paying of the highest interest debt first is the way to go and if that motivates you then “you can do it, just put your back into it.” However, it has been proven that by paying off the largest first and working your way down the list works faster and more efficiently, ridding yourself of debt in a much faster time frame than you would normally expect.

“Yaaay Yaaaayeee”! You will not attain financial freedom by living an extravagant lifestyle on limited income but if you break down your monthly take home income (after taxes) and list your necessary expenses, you can allocate your funds accordingly, to put yourself on the fast track for success.

I will document my experiences via the blog, so hopefully you too can see that this ish really works. And if anyone has any questions along the way, I would be glad to help. My journey starts today with reading the introduction and I may even get a little crazy by opening into chapter one, but why not I’m not driving. So, please keep me in your thoughts and prayers so I can get through this tough task at hand.

Leave a Reply

