Throughout my childhood I had the privilege of traveling across the country with my uncle going to various sporting events. Super Bowls, All-Star Games, etc… I’ve been to pretty much every major city but was not really able to experience all they had to offer. It is hard to really explore when you are on an extended layover or have a set and busy itinerary. So, I have compiled a collection of places I would like to visit and really experience.

Chicago, Illinois: It seemed like a nice city from the huge terminals of O’Hare and is one of those places I feel like I should go. I hate the wind, their teams, and deep dish pizza but I feel like I will have never really lived and can go on with my life hating Chicago teams even more after being there. I gotta go to Wrigley and watch a game from across Sheffield, watch a Knicks vs. Bulls game and take a picture in front of MJ, and eat a Chicago style hot dog.

Nawlins, Lousiana: Obviously during Mardi Gras. Not only is it the biggest party in the world but it is as far away from hurricane season as possible. I wanna rock an LSU Shaq jersey all week to match my purple and gold beads. I want to have full-on conversations with rednecks fresh off the bayou, where I cannot understand a word they’re saying. I want to go to Emeril’s and have crawfish gumbo and help rebuild a house flattened by Katrina. I want to wear my seer sucker suit and light blue gators and to a black gospel church and dance in the aisles. Tell me this video doesn’t give you the chills…

Savannah, Georgia: I love me a good southern drawl. I want to release sea turtle from their eggs into the ocean like Miley Cyrus did in her last movie. I want to go to Paula Deen’s for brunch and eat some deep-fried butter with butter on top. I want to see some Civil War shit. I want to get bitten by a mosquito sippin’ my sweet tea on a front porch rocking chair and then have to sleep with one of those nets around the bed.

Portland, Oregon: For our honeymoon we’re going to do Napa/Sonoma and Pacific Northwest wine country with the second stop being in PDX. I want to start my day off with a maple donut covered in bacon from Voodoo Donuts. Hit up Nike for a new pair of Air Max 95s. Stack some cheddar at the Tilamook Cheese factory because there aren’t many things better than cheese. Well, beer is better than cheese and then drink a pint of Oregasmic Ale from Rogue Brewery.

Seattle, Washington: I want to get a Venti Iced Soy Chai from the original Starbucks. I want to climb the rock wall at the world’s largest REI because that is as outdoorsy as I get. I want to throw and catch a fish from Pike’s Place Market and then have someone turn it into bomb spicy tuna like they did on “The Real World.” I want to get a Shawn Kemp jersey signed by “The Rainman’s” 8 kids and 6 baby’s Mamas. I want to wear a flannel and not shower for the three days I’m there.

Sydney, Australia: I’m not big on leaving the country but I would make an exception for here and one other place. I want to go to an All Blacks match. I want to board the S.S. Steve Irwin and help save a whale. I want to go to the Syndey Opera House that looks like a bunch of clams. I want to eat a Vegemite sandwich with the Aborigines. I want to be weirded out by watching the water flush in the opposite direction. And I want to go for a kangaroo ride if you can even do that.

Rome, Italy: I’m not big on tourist attractions, so I would do the staples like the doing the Leaning Tower of Pisa picture, The Coliseum, and maybe say what’s up to the Pope at The Vatican but when I go on vacation I want to relax. So, when I’m in Italy I want to do nothing but eat thin-crust Parmigiano Reggiano and Prosciutto pizza and have purple gums from drinking so much Pinot Noir. This will be done on a few wine tours and tasting and not much else.

Comments
  1. Gianna says:

    Savannah is my 3rd favorite city.
    And take me with on honeymoon to Portland!

Leave a Reply

