Midterm Election 2010! Go America!

Posted: November 3, 2010 in My Life, Political, Pop Culture

In case you haven’t heard and have been living under a rock or haven’t logged on Facebook in the last 24 hours, there was a huge political swing in America. The republicans have taken control of the majority of the House of Representatives, taken back many Senate seats, as well as gubernatorial seats. More than any other midterm election, Republicans took over 60 seats in the house.

This blog is not for me to say like DJ Khaled “We da best! We takin over”! I don’t want this to get into a bickering war to talk about why conservatives are right and liberals are wrong and vice versa. I want to recognize that the hope for change 2 years ago isn’t changing for the better as quickly or as well as it needs to.

It is obvious that when voters casted their votes they were expressing their frustration with the current situation including the economy, healthcare, the housing market, and education. If everything was fine and dandy in America, such a big political statement would not have been made.

I am not Pro-bama but I just finished watching his speech and I can honestly say that I was pleased with the tone, direction, and realism that he presented. There are multiple parties for a reason and we would not be America if we had only one political party. That being said, for the time being I am content with President Obama and the Democrats saying they would like to work more cohesively with the Republicans to fix America instead of working towards their personal agenda.

The issue of Obamacare seems to be the biggest in which their in firm opposition to. Many of the new Republicans in office are on the other side of the fence with this issue. President Obama says if they have good ideas he will consider them. That is all good with me but I find it too little too late for this speech about working synergistically when they should have been working synergystically for the last 2 years.

However, I say that hesitantly because we heard the same words 2 years ago when we heard all of the change, new ideas, hope for hope, and how it was only the beginning. Well, it is not the beginning anymore. We are 2 years into a process that hasn’t worked the way both Democrats and Republicans would have liked and both parties share the blame to a certain extent.

I obviously am a conservative for multiple reasons. I stand by conservative values including faith, low taxes, limited government, immigrations, pro-life, etc.. If I were elected to President, I would want to put policy into action that fits with my morals and values. If there was an overwhelming opposition to my conservative ideologies I would then have to be a realist and recognize that to be effective at all and at least accomplish part of my agenda, I would have to compromise on certain issues to appease the rest of the opposition. And I am hesitantly just now beginning to see that the Liberals are catching wind of this way of working.

Now, I would like to think that they will begin to work together because it is the right thing to do. But we are halfway to the next election and there is a good chance that they begin to move towards the middle not because it will be effective but because it serves as a talking points when campaigning for reelection. I am not so naive as to say to that it is only Democrats that would do that, Republicans can be just as slick if not more when it comes to politicking.

So, I “hope” that this isn’t just another politically correct statement, that they are going to work together because they are forced to but because they have to if they want to live in a better country. I am optimistic that over the next 2 years, both sides will be able to work together to enact policy that will improve the current conditions we live with. There is a lot of room for improvement and I just hope Washington as a whole, takes advantage of it.

I would like to take this time to announce my running for Nevada State Senate, unless Danny Tarkanian wants to again because he is the man and I think would have beat “Dingy” Harry. Thank you for your time and God Bless America.

Leave a Reply

