I knew it was going to be a successful Memorial Day Weekend when I left the office early and the first song on the radio was the “Thong Song.” Sisqo just has such a way with words and it really kicked off my  MDW2011 the right way. “She had dumps like a truck truck truck, Thighs like what what what, Baby move your butt butt butt,” I mean that kind of lyricism just doesn’t come around every day.

With this blog, I would like to highlight the fun and eventful weekend. With the afternoon off on Friday I made myself useful by doing a little groomsmen gift shopping. I have always been a creative gift giver but I really have outdone my usual work this time by incorporating a little arts and crafts touch. I didn’t actually craft it myself but the idea dawned on me to contract the crafting out to Danielle.

After a long afternoon of getting in and out of a hot car (the thing I hate most in this world) it was time for a little PTI with @MrTonySays and Insanity with @shaunTfitness. Then I mashed on some bomb Seafood Ravioli from Salvatore in honor of the wise Nicholas H. Wesling’s graduation. With the carbs I needed to ignite it was time to perform by welcoming the lovely Emily Beckman, Lance Agostino, and their other roommate to the neighborhood with the house-warming present of our presence.

With a good night’s rest and morning workout under my belt it was time to shower for the shower. I believe it was Nicole Minaj that said it best with “I’m not lucky, I’m blessed.” We are very blessed to have friends like CJ Morley and Katie Ford who threw the shindig for us and very blessed to have many friends with such quality taste in movies that they were so nice to pass on to us. Thank you, all of you!

Unfortunately, Saturday’s and Saturnight’s activities left me out of commission Sunday morning and I was too lazy to go to church, which I regret. The afternoon was spent and grillin’ and chillin’ poolside as I showed off my Bobby Flay skills with burgers, ribs, and pork loin. I have always thought he should open a restaurant called “Flayvor.” Doesn’t that make sense? I feel like it too perfect and too obvious not to take advantage of.


Then comes Memorial Day… the whole reason for the weekend’s activities. A day to remember the soldiers of the past and pray for the soldiers of the present as they keep us safe all over the world. We went and met the fam at GVR pool and scoped out some good photo opps for the pre-wedding.

We then got our “liberal” on and spent some time hugging trees and walking around Whole Foods at Town Square in our Teva sandals trying the free flaxseed samples before a quick flick. I highly recommend you pick up some Aussie licorice there next time and sneak it in next time you decide to go to Rave. Aussie Licorice is the Parmigiano-Reggiano of the Anise-flavored product line and makes Twizzlers Pull N’ Peel look like string cheese.

The Hangover was an amazing and groundbreaking movie for our generation and others to revel at and quote for the last 2 years. That being said, any proposed sequel is going to have a tough time comparing to its predecessor. I don’t think anyone would say it was better and I think it is a knee-jerk reaction to say it sucked. I think it lacked creativity as it was an Thigh-version of the first movie, Alan didn’t have as many good one-liners, and the “shock and awe” factor was used less frequently and efficiently.

If the first movie had never existed I think people would have loved the second as a stand-alone movie. No one went in thinking it was going to be better than the first and it still ended up being the highest grossing R-rated Memorial Day movie EVER! I personally would recommend it and think it could have fared better if it were titled “The Hungover” but that’s just me.

The weekend was capped off with a Turkey Fatburger and a little bloggage, which you are now reaping the benefits of. I’m getting married in less than 3 weeks and will be doing mildly important to highly important things every day from here on out and next week I’ll blog expressing my nerves with the 10-day forecast… (cliffhanger) dun dun dun!

Comments
  1. jonmackin says:

    Please refer back to what I said and check your sources.

Leave a Reply

