Top Ten Sodas of All Time!

Posted: December 15, 2010 in My Life, Pop Culture, Television

I love me some high-fructose corn syrup and the best way to utilize this sticky sweet is in a carbonated beverage. Right now society is so health conscious using alternative sugars like Aspartame (which is proven to cause cancer is extremely high amounts) and the natural and surprisingly tasty option Astevia.

However, I still am a fat kid that loves soda at heart and there are thousands to choose from. But do not fret as I have done all the dirty work for you as I have made a playlist of my favorite sodas of all time. These icy cold ones are the reason I was “husky” in 6th grade before basketball season and probably the reason I am diving head first into vats of craft beer.

As ushe (that’s “usually” abbreviated, sorry I know it doesn’t roll of the tongue that well) my ten will differ from your ten, your Mom’s ten, the guy she liked in high school’s ten, and his kid who you played soccer with when you were sever years old’s ten. So, please feel free to voice your opinion on the platforms that I may have missed.

10. All Sport: Thank God for this blog! I have gone the last 8 years thinking All Sport was discontinued but thanks to my research I have come to find out it still exists. The last time I had it was in the 9th grade when I drank three bottles prior to basketball intramurals (much different from college intramurals) and puked it all up. But I’ll tell you it was just as good coming up as it was going down. It stands in a class of its own of being a carbonated sports drink that is paired extremely well with CCSD cafeteria chocolate chip cookies.

9. Code Red Mountain Dew: I was never a big fan of original Mountain Dew. I didn’t like the citrusy and grapefruit-like nodes I got when it was swirled in a fine piece of glassware. However, I did like its fruit punch-inspired cousin, Code Red. A Code Red vintage 2004 can be best enjoyed from a Taco Bell accompanied by a Cheesy Gordita Crunch and Beefy Five-Layer Burrito. Pure bliss.

8. Canada Dry Ginger Ale: Made with real bits of panther, I mean ginger, so you know it’s good. This is a mature and sophisticated soft drink that can make a kid look old and an old guy look well.. older. This aromatic drink will leave your taste buds buzzing with excitement even from high altitudes. Which just so happens to be its ideal serving location. Next time you are aboard a Southwest Airlines flight, order a Ginger Ale to wash down your two packs of dry roasted peanuts, it is pairing that will have you truly perturbed if you hit a storm cell or some turbulence causing your drink to swell over its shallow cupholder like a soda tsunami.

7. Club Soda: I know I know. Club Soda is just water with CO2 and sodium. But this chemistry equation is balanced on both sides. Why have water when you can have sparkling water? That’s like choosing a dull diamond over a brilliant one. If there is ever a rare time that I choose to enjoy a nice spirit, I always am sure to cut the bite with fresh soda water straight out of the gun with a lime. It also happens to be the alcoholic drink with the least caloric count, like I’m counting…

6. Dr. Brown’s Cream Soda: This refreshing and sweet treat brings me back to my childhood of frequenting Jewish delicatessens. My Dad was a sucker for a knish and I always went with a Pastrami on Rye. The savoryness of the pastrami was perfectly balanced by the creamy yet subtle sugars of the Dr. Brown’s Cream Soda. Dr. Brown’s can only be found at traditional Jewish delis, so if you can find one I highly suggest you try the Judaic jubilation.

5. Orange Slice: “Who loves orange soda? Kel (and Mackin) loves orange soda.” This is basically candy in a cup. It is highly sweetened and highly delicious. A good friend of mine Chris Dinh, showed me that when used to chase a spiced rum the combination of the two flavors taste just like an orange creamsicle. I actually saw one of these episodes live from Universal Studios in Orlando, Florida. I was pissed because I wanted to see Mo and the Agro Crag on G.U.T.S. but this was still cool. “Yes, I did I did I did I di-id.”

4. Diet Cherry Vanilla Dr. Pepper: As if 23 flavors weren’t enough, Dr. Pepper added three more for what would be the most complex flavor profile of all time. It is the only soda that has all categories of the food triangle in one 2-liter bottle. My favorite way to enjoy is with poor-quality delivery pizza. The sub-par pizza really allows the Diet Cherry Vanilla Dr. Pepper’s flavors to shine through.

3. Surge: This bootleg Moutain Dew was just flat-out a fun drinking experience. It was ridden with sugar and highly caffeineted that had us and the wall ball bouncing off the walls at lunchtime. You have never hit a tetherball so hard as you have after drinking a can of Surge. It was the children’s version of steroids that never really tasted that great but was fun to make fun of your guy friends when they drank it by saying “it lowers your sperm count, it lowers your sperm count.” Like we even knew what that meant at the age of 9.

2. Pepsi: Yep, Pepsi over Coke. I choose to go with more sugar and less carbonation. When drank ice cold, the Pepsi almost burns your tongue a little bit. Pepsi encompasses the next generation. Pepsi is American. To me, it isn’t even a matter of discussion when choosing between Pepsi and Coke. The commericals are ground-breaking and are reminiscent of the holiday season when people are cheery. There are the age-old ads, where Pepsi always wins but here is when you might remember that is my favorite.

1. Sierra Mist: I used to drink be a Sprite drinker but when Sprite signed on Kobe Bryant as their spokesman in the late 1990s I was completely turned off and turned on to a much more viable competitor. The commercials are right in that the only way to accurately describe Sierra Mist is with the phrase “shockingly refreshing.” It leaves little bubbles of goodness dancing on your tongue with joy. The lemon/lime flavor is bold but it doesn’t over power. You can have one a warm Summer’s eve or beside a cozy fireplace in the Winter. Truly balanced, flavorful, and refreshing. Everything a soda should be. Amen!

Comments
  1. Adam says:

    Awesome blog…. and I will stop there. lol.

  2. Dmos says:

    no mello yellow or mr. pibb?

Leave a Reply

